9 stages of human life

 Although at times we believe that “life” is something we all experience, the truth is that there are some nuances that go through each of us in different ways. One of the factors that change are the physical context in which we live, such as the type of family in which we are born, the money we have, the place we live in, etc.

However, one factor no less important is the way our own body makes us aliveAnd, in this sense, the passage of years and ages makes us perceive things differently.

What are “life stages”?

So, for example, he is one of several authors in the history of psychology who have proposed to classify the stages of life, specifically those that are part of one of its stages: childhood. Although each set its own criteria to determine where one ended and where the other began.

Sigmund Freud, the father of psychoanalysis, defined the different stages of psychological development, a theory closely related to his idea of ​​the unconscious mind. Jean Piaget laid the foundation for evolutionary psychology by establishing the stages of cognitive development from childhood to adulthood.

But all these ideas are framed in a broader theoretical context that tells us about the stages of life in general, assessing both psychological changes and physical ones.

different phases of life we ​​went through

Next, we will see what are the main stages of life that define how we behave, how we perceive reality, and what our needs are.

While it is true that the extent of these stages is not very clear and it is debatable whether or not something begins or ends later, there is a uniform consensus about what they are and how they occupy our lives. Is.

1. Prenatal stage

Life begins before birth, and the prenatal stage is one that includes the moment the uterus has not yet survivedIn that period we are already able to learn through touch and sounds, that is, the human brain already associates stimuli with sufficient responses.

  • Related article: “The 3 stages of intrauterine or prenatal development: from zygote to embryo”

2. Childhood

Early childhood begins at birth and ends by about 3 or 4 years of ageIt is the stage in which the most important steps in the development of language are taken and also the necessary education is given about how the world works and the pace of things.

In addition, the use of language begins to make it increasingly abstract and complex concepts that will help to understand things in depth.

3. Childhood

This stage of life is one that lasts more or less for 3 to 6 yearshence it is also defined as the preschool stage.

Self-concept is formed in this stage and the ability to think about the mental state of others is gained, either to carry out their intentions or to know what they are not aware of. This skill is called the theory of mind.

4. Intermediate Childhood

Intermediate or school children are from 6 to 11 years old . At this stage there are many advancements in the ability to understand mathematical operations and the structure of complex sentences.

In the same way, the importance of having good relationships with others and having a good image begins to gain weight, and so does the importance of joining a group of friends.

5. Adolescence

Adolescence is from 11 to 17 yearsThis is an important stage, as it strengthens the ability to think in abstract terms and also produces hormonal changes that can cause some emotional instability.

In addition, adolescence is the most intense part of the search for one’s identity, and the social circles that seek to achieve greater influence in a person.

6. the stage of youth

This stage is around 18 to 35 years oldHere the consolidation of the most enduring friendship circles takes place and one learns to live with a high degree of independence so that one is no longer dependent on the parents. Psychologically and biologically, their physical and mental abilities also reach their ceiling, and they begin to decline slightly between the ages of 25 and 30.

7. Stage of Maturity

Maturity ranges from 36 to 50 yearsIn this stage, the labor aspect is consolidated and specialization is obtained that would generate income to live independently in most Western countries.

On the other hand, expectations of change in one’s own life are becoming moderate and life goals are more oriented towards stability.

8. Stage of Mature Adulthood

This stage lasts from 50 to 65 yearsIn this, it is customary to consolidate the level of income to levels that allow you to live better than before, but there are changes in the body that you need to know how to manage. At the same time, the assessment of stability also increases.

9. Seniors

Seniors begin at the age of 65, and in this, a new freedom is gained by the disappearance of normal work obligations and the departure of sons and daughters that may occur.

In some cases, this produces Empty Nest Syndrome, and exposure to grief occurs more often than family members of the same generation and friends die.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.